Roasted Root Vegetables

I love potatoes. Starchy, starchy potatoes. But, they’re not really a healthy option for a side dish. Well, not until I roast them with other vegetables.

Roasted potatoes are a keystone to any recipe repertoire since they’re easy to make and a pretty safe option for serving to other people. It’s actually one of my most requested dishes among my friends (well, barring any mexican food).

Whenever I make roasted potatoes, I always use the tiny potatoes you can find in a grocery store, but the type of potato I use always differs. Sometimes I use red potatoes, sometimes white, other times purple potatoes, or I just use a mixture of all three if I’m feeling especially patriotic (there’s a fourth of July dinner idea for ya). But normal sized potatoes can be used too, they just require more chopping.

So after washing my little potatoes, I quarter them since I still want them to be sizable chunks of potato and throw them into a bowl. Then I slice up some onion, crush some garlic, and finally, peel and chop up some carrots and parsnips. Other vegetables that could be added I suppose would be things like celery, maybe beets might work well here, cauliflower, etc. It’s a roasted vegetable medley that needs to be cooked for a long time at a high temperature. Basically, any vegetable that can withstand that kind of cooking can be used here.

2015-12-21 16.45.14

Unfortunately, for this cook through I didn’t have any carrots since someone decided to use them all up the previous night. But normally I use them so use your imagination. Pretend they’re there too.

Anyway, now that all the vegetables are in a bowl, we can toss some seasoning on them. I give them a healthy amount of olive oil to coat all of it, salt, pepper, oregano, and basil. The herbs used are totally interchangeable. It all depends on what kind of seasoning you’re using on the rest of your meal. Other herbs I like to use are tarragon, italian seasoning, or marjoram. So it’s all a matter of preference.

2015-12-21 16.50.13

Throw your seasoning and oil in there and toss the veggies around until they’re coated in the stuff. Then lay them out on a baking sheet in a single layer (or as close to a single layer as one can get).

Then I roast them at 400˚F for about 1.5 hours or so, making sure to toss them about halfway through so they’re easier to get off the pan in the end and they might crisp up on multiple sides. After that I pour them back into a bowl and toss them with a little bit of butter (or if you need to be dairy-free: margarine) and then serve.


 

Oven Roasted Root Vegetables

Prep Time: 30 min

Cook Time: 1.5 hours

Serves 6

Ingredients

  • 2 lbs small potatoes
  • 2 parsnips
  • 2 carrots
  • 1 onion
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 5 tbs olive oil
  • 2 tbs butter or margarine
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp pepper
  • 1 tbs basil
  • 1 tbs oregano

Preparation

Preheat oven to 400˚F.

Quarter potatoes, slice onions, and crush garlic. Peel and chop up carrots and parsnips and transfer all vegetables into a bowl. Pour in olive oil, salt, pepper, basil, and oregano and toss to evenly coat vegetables in the seasoning. Place onto a baking sheet and spread into a single layer. Bake for 1.5 hours turning halfway through cooking. Pull out of oven and pour into a separate bowl. Add butter or margarine and toss to coat. Serve.

Gluten-free, dairy-free


One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

