Guacamole

As a native of Texas, there’s nothing I love more than Tex-Mex. And as such, there’s nothing that makes me happier than some chips and guacamole. And since avocados always seem to on sale, I get to make a lot of guacamole.

It’s taken me a while, but I think I’ve finally found a mixture of ingredients to make guacamole that is as good as any Tex-Mex restaurant, or at least good enough to satisfy my guacamole cravings.

Start off with some nice, ripe avocados. When choosing an avocado, it should be a little bit soft but not super squishy. And any avocado that’s still rock hard is no good, it won’t mash well. Cut the avocados in half and scoop out the insides. I like to take the put out with a knife but it can also be scooped out.

2015-12-31 12.07.02

Once you have all of your avocados in a bowl, mash them up with a fork or a potato masher. The amount of mashing depends on personal preference. If you want large chucks of avocados in your guacamole, then you should mash them less than I have. I think there’s enough other textures in guacamole that chucks of avocado aren’t really necessary, but that is an entirely personal preference.

2015-12-31 12.08.19

Now for the rest of the line-up. Onions, tomato, jalapeños, and cilantro. Those are the start of a good guacamole. I use white onions because I don’t like buying a whole red onion and only use a little bit of it. Besides, too much red onion will completely overpower everything. I also remove the seeds and membrane from the jalapeños, which is where most of the capsaicin is. Capsaicin is the chemical compound that makes jalapeños (and other chiles) spicy. If you want more heat, you can include as many seeds and the membrane as you want. I love spicy food, but since I’m not the only one eating this, I have to make it so everyone can enjoy. Sad, I know.

2015-12-31 12.22.01

Add it all to the mashed avocado and then it’s time to season it. Lime juice is a must as well as salt and pepper. On top of that, I’ve found that a little but of garlic powder and cumin take it from ordinary guacamole into something much more delicious. Mix all of these together to get some addictive guac.

2015-12-31 12.30.03

Be sure you have plenty of chips.


Guacamole

Prep time: 15 minutes

Ingredients

  • 4 avocados
  • 2 jalapeños
  • ½ yellow onion
  • 2 roma/plum tomatoes
  • 1 cup cilantro
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ tsp pepper
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • Juice of 1 ½ limes (1/2 cup or to taste)

Preparation

Cut avocados in half around the put and scoop out the insides into a bowl. Mash with a fork or potato masher until desired consistency. Dice onions, tomatoes, jalapenos, and cilantro and add to avocados. Squeeze in lime juice. Add salt, pepper, garlic powder, and cumin and stir to combine. Let sit in fridge for ~30 minutes for flavors to combine.

Gluten-free, dairy-free


Leave a Reply

