Bacon Gorgonzola Potato Salad

This isn’t for the faint of heart. Or those whose cheese palate does not include a love of very strong cheeses like Blue Cheese or, in this case, Gorgonzola. Both a very pungent cheeses that I personally would never eat straight, but I don’t mind them in things. Although cooking with cheese like this requires a delicate balance since a little too much cheese, and what you made is ruined.

I made this, or a variation of it, over the summer for a cookout at my internship. I like to be difficult. I promised to make a potato salad and I didn’t want to make a run-of-the-mill potato salad (mostly because I don’t really care for the normal potato salad with hard boiled eggs). While surfing the internet for inspiration I found a blue cheese potato salad recipe. Since I never take a recipe at face value, I have a variation here that can serve as another blog post.

For this dish I used purple potatoes. Why? Because I can. The type of potato really doesn’t matter. Well, I wouldn’t suggest using Russet potatoes, but I won’t knock it until I try it. I find that the bag of tiny potatoes work the best for this so you’re options are: red potatoes, yellow potatoes, or purple potatoes. Or if you’re lucky, you can find a bag with all three mixed together (a good fourth of July dish).

2016-01-05 17.45.56

Purple potatoes are, well, purple. But don’t let that scare you. They taste like potatoes. There’s probably a subtle flavor that makes it different from other potatoes, but I couldn’t tell you what exactly that is. But I like these because I like the way they look. It’s an interesting color to add to any meal. I just quarter them, throw them in some cold salted water and bring it to a boil. You never add potatoes into a pot of boiling water or else they won’t cook evenly. I boil them for about 10 to 15 minutes. I want them to be tender but not super tender, otherwise you’ll end up with mashed potato salad.

After that I fry up some bacon, crumble it up, and add in some onion. Once they cook down, I add in some parsley and chive. I like chive for potato dishes, I don’t know why, it just kind of works. Then I pour in some apple cider vinegar (which I always prefer to white vinegar but white vinegar will work too) and olive oil.

Then throw in the potatoes and gently mix to cover all of the potato in the liquid. After which it’s time to add the cheese. Now, I give an amount of cheese to add, but this is a personal preference. If you don’t want a strong cheese flavor then add less. Or just add a bit at a time and taste as you go until you have a level of Gorgonzola undertone that you like (that’s what I do). As you mix it in, the Gorgonzola will melt forming a coating around the potato so you get a bit of cheese with every bite.

2016-01-05 18.30.35

It’s not my most attractive looking dish, but it does the job. I think it tastes pretty good and so does my family (because they’re obsessed with Gorgonzola).


Bacon Gorgonzola Potato Salad

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 30 minutes

Ingredients

  • 28 oz purple potatoes
  • 4 slices of bacon
  • ½ large white onion
  • ½ cup chopped parsley
  • ¼ cup chive
  • ½ cup olive oil
  • ¼ cup apple cider vinegar
  • ¼ cup Gorgonzola
  • Salt & pepper to taste

Preparation

Quarter potatoes and place into a pot of salted water. Bring water to a boil and boil potatoes for 10-15 minutes or until potatoes are just tender. Drain. Cook bacon in a separate pot. Remove bacon and add onion. Cook onion until translucent (5 minutes or so). Add crumbled bacon, parsley, and chive. Let cook for another minute. Add cider vinegar and olive oil and remove from heat. Add potatoes and toss to coat potatoes in the liquid. Add cheese and stir until combined. Can be served hot or cold.

Gluten-free


Leave a Reply

