Honey-Dijon Cauliflower

As a person who used to hate many vegetables in my younger days, I have to say that I sure did miss out on a lot. Not just health-wise. To an extent, I regret those days of picky eating because I can only imagine how much more stuff I might like today. Although currently there are few things I won’t eat save that dastardly cinnamon and that wretched peanut butter. Yes. I don’t like peanut butter. Sue me.

Now, if reading this post is still a thing despite my peanut-butter-despising-confession, well then, on to the vegetable in question.

As a connoisseur of cooking only about five or six different vegetables, you could imagine my elation at the discovery of cauliflower. It’s not something I grew up with okay. Having only cooked with the white broccoli for about a year or so, I have found some ways that are quite delicious to prepare the little bastards.

When I originally made this recipe I used purple cauliflower. Why? Because it’s purple…duh. All joking aside, I’m pretty sure that purple and that weird looking orange cauliflower have only been genetically engineered to exhibit that color (kinda like the green and purple ketchup that used to be a thing) and it has no effect on the flavor. I could, however, be completely wrong in that statement and in which case, I apologize for lying.

In any case, this is a relatively simple endeavor. I mean, what could be easier than mixing everything in a bowl, pouring it onto a baking sheet, and roasting it in an oven without your watchful eye?

So first off, the mixing of everything into a bowl. So I make a coating of Dijon mustard (whichever is your favorite will work, I used coarse grain Dijon but it’s all a matter of what’s in the fridge), olive oil, honey, parsley, paprika, salt, and pepper. Mix all of this together and it’s time to add the cauliflower.

2016-01-09 18.36.08.jpg

In addition to the cauliflower that I give just a rough chop, I like to include some diced shallot and garlic. If there are no shallots available, then onion works just as well. Or you can just go without the shallot. I wouldn’t skimp on the garlic though, but I suppose garlic powder could be used in a pinch.

2016-01-09 18.43.26

Once you’ve mixed it all together, we can pour it onto a baking sheet. I line mine with foil because I’m lazy and want to do as little clean up as possible. And always make sure you have your cauliflower in a single layer. Piling it up with make the stuff on the bottom not cook as well as the stuff on the top. Plus they won’t get those little roasted burned bits, which is really what I’m looking for in my roasted vegetables.

2016-01-09 19.30.11

After that, it’s as easy as throwing the sheet into a 400˚F oven and letting it do it’s roasty magic for 45 minutes. I like to toss the cauliflower halfway through the cooking time (well about halfway since 45 isn’t easily divisible by 2) just so I can distribute those little burned parts to more of the cauliflower. But that’s not a necessity and they’ll turn out just as good if you just leave them alone. And there you have it, a vegetable dish that has really no excuse for not being made (aside from maybe the whole cook time thing). It’s so easy that, if I really wanted to, I can make it on any of my busiest days.


Honey Dijon Cauliflower

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 45 minutes

Ingredients

  • 1 head of Cauliflower
  • 1 shallot, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • ¼ cup fresh parsley
  • 2 tbs Dijon mustard
  • 1 tbs honey
  • 2 tbs olive oil
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp salt
  • ½ tsp pepper

Preparation

Preheat oven to 400˚F

In a bowl, mix together Dijon mustard, honey, olive oil, parsley, paprika, salt, and pepper. Add chopped cauliflower, shallot, and garlic and toss to evenly coat. Place onto a baking sheet in a single layer. Cook for 45 minutes, tossing halfway through cooking to promote even roasting.

Gluten-free, Dairy-free


 

Leave a Reply

