Mozzarella-Stuffed Garlic Knots

There’s a reason I wrote about a salad I had to make with a pasta dish that will come soon. That’s because my other side dish was literally cheese rolled in bread. Healthy.

The roommate that dislikes vegetables only eats about 5 basic food groups: meat, cheese, bread, pasta, and spaetzle. I have to make a distinction between pasta and spaetzle because spaetzle has a special place in her heart. Needless to say, she’d starve if I didn’t make sides without vegetables. Not literally, but the drama is what attracts views, right?

So garlic knots. I wouldn’t make literal garlic knots because I want to stuff this with cheese (I know, SUPER healthy). That and I didn’t want to have to wrestle with dough trying to get it to tie without breaking apart.

Now, there has to be a selling point. Telling you to buy a thing of Pillsbury crescent rolls and rolling mozzarella up in it is really the basis for a failing food blog. That’s not inventive on my part. But you can do that (I’d imagine you could use other cheeses too). So we’re going to make some garlic oil.

I heated some garlic and rosemary up in a sizable amount of oil. I just crushed up the garlic because I wasn’t going to use it on the actual garlic knots but it you want that, then you can mince it up. Rosemary was added to add a little more flavor to the oil and I had it on hand.

IMG_0414

That needs to heat up on medium low heat for quite awhile, almost half an hour. You don’t want to smoke the oil or get it too hot, otherwise you might burn the garlic. I just kept an eye on it but overall you can put this on the stove and leave it alone. No babysitting needed.

Then I opened up my package of Pillsbury crescent rolls and placed in sticks of mozzarella at the larger end and rolled them up like a normal crescent roll. I used a block of fresh mozzarella because I think it’s far superior to any other kind of mozzarella you can get. I mean, all cheese is fresh, that’s probably not the right word to use. But when I say “fresh” mozzarella, I’m pretty much referring to the softer kind. There are blocks of mozzarella that feel just like a block of cheddar would, but this is a little softer and melts quicker. But mostly, I think it has more mozzarella flavor.

IMG_0430

After rolling these guys up, I brushed them with the infused oil. I was pretty liberal with the oil because I wanted the garlic flavor to really get into the bread. They didn’t turn out greasy in the end either, so you don’t have to worry about that.

IMG_0442

If you want to keep them in a nice little pouch so that a mozzarella puddle doesn’t form, then I suggest closing up the crescent rolls at the ends instead of leaving the mozzarella exposed. I, however, not only love this sight, but I also love when cheese kind of browns and crisps up. It’s a lovely flavor. So I pried all of these off and tried my best to keep all the cheese with these little garlic crescents and I served them.

IMG_0443

It’s not the most elegant dish, but I think some simplicity can go a long way. These were very popular among my friends which is really all that matters. I think sometimes it’s important to show that something delicious can be made with pre-made store-bought ingredients. I am typically a purist and prefer to make everything from scratch, but there are certain things that I rely on. Pillsbury crescent rolls are definitely one of those things that “ain’t broke” so I won’t fix it.


Mozzarella-Stuffed Garlic Knots

Prep time: 5 minutes

Cook time: 28 minutes

Makes 8 large rolls

Ingredients

  • ¼ cup olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed
  • 1 sprig rosemary
  • 1 ½ tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1 package crescent rolls
  • ½ lb mozzarella julienned

Preparation

  1. Preheat oven to 350˚F
  2. In a small saucepan, heat olive oil, garlic, and rosemary over medium low heat
  3. Keep over heat for ~20-30 minutes to infuse oil with garlic and rosemary flavor
  4. Cut mozzarella into strips
  5. Brush baking sheet with the garlic-infused oil
  6. Unroll crescent roll dough and set one piece of mozzarella at the edge of the crescent roll piece
  7. Roll mozzarella up in the dough and set onto baking sheet
  8. Repeat for the rest of the dough
  9. Brush the tops of the crescent rolls with oil
  10. Cook for 8 minutes or according to package directions

Vegetarian


 

Leave a Reply

