Oven-Roasted Potato “Chips”

As I continue to figure out a consistent publishing schedule that’s not every other day (because I have neither the time anymore nor the material), I spend most of my time building a website and managing a newspaper. Why? I don’t really know. I attend a technical school not a liberal arts college.

But to the task at hand. Potatoes. I’m always trying to think of ways to cook these things. It’s not that I’m running out of ideas, it’s just that I haven’t tried a lot of other ways to make them. But, I moved away from a simple mashed potato and decided to go for something much crispier. A potato chip.

Not a potato chip in the classical sense. But it’s close enough. These will never be as thin as a Lays potato chip. But it won’t be as salty either.

The great thing about making your own potato chips is that you can tailor the flavor to suit your needs. If you’re making a dish with a certain flavor profile, then you can mimic it in your chips. But if you want something completely different, that can be done too. All without having to buy another bag of chips.

IMG_0588

So I started this off with very paintakingly trying to thinly slice my potatoes. I don’t own a mandolin (which is probably for the best since I’m kind of clumsy). If I had a mandolin, these would be perfectly sliced and all the same thickness. That’s the ideal for this kind of meal, but since I can’t pull that off, I’ll stick to trying to do it myself.

IMG_0590

Then I mixed together some cornstarch, olive oil, garlic powder, onion powder, thyme, tarragon, salt, and pepper. I dried the potatoes as best I could with a paper towel and then I tossed them in this cornstarch mixture.

IMG_0596

Lay these out in a nice single layer and they’re all ready for roasting. So put these in at 400˚F for 20 minutes making sure to flip them halfway through. And you’ll some simple, mildly-healthy, potato chips. Make sure to salt them a little bit right after you pull them out of the oven.

IMG_0606

The final product won’t be nearly as roasted as mine were. I put mine in for an extra 10 minutes because I like them a little crispier. But just check up on them every once in a while and you’ll find the crispness that works best for you.


Oven-Roasted Potato “Chips”

Prep time: 20 minute

Cook time: 20 minutes

Ingredients

  • 3 yellow potatoes, thinly sliced
  • 2 tbs cornstarch
  • 2 tbs olive oil
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • 1 tsp tarragon
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper

Preparation

  1. Preheat oven to 400˚F
  2. Thinly slice potatoes either by hand or with a mandolin
  3. Coat potatoes in cornstarch, olive oil, garlic powder, onion powder, thyme, tarragon, salt, and pepper
  4. Toss to evenly coat
  5. Place potatoes in a single layer on a baking sheet
  6. Bake for 20 minutes, turning potatoes halfway through cooking time

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Vegetarian


 

Leave a Reply

