Maple Walnut Barbecue Sweet Potatoes

I am very bad about being consistent and if there’s one thing I consistently read about starting a food blog it was “consistency is key.” Well. I already messed that up.

It’s hard when you think you don’t have a lot of work to do and then suddenly things pile onto one another and are due the same day. Ah, college. Gotta love it.

In continuing my BBQ-extravaganza, we’re moving on to some good BBQ sides. And I try to make different kinds of sides with each BBQ dinner I make. It would be boring if I always made collard greens and baked beans. Where’s the pizzaz? So one classic side dish I could get at a BBQ joint would be a sweet potato of some kind. What sounds better than BBQ sweet potatoes? Brisket. Definitely brisket. But that’s besides the point.

2016-04-10 18.08.20

We’ll start by cleaning our spuds and pulling out any roots that are still on it. It happens from time to time. I don’t know what it is about sweet potatoes, but they really can never grow the same shape. It makes roasting them a bit more challenging.

I painstakingly cut these babies in half, which is a lot harder than you’d think. Raw sweet potatoes are pretty solid, making cutting through a giant block a but of a work out. That and my knife is in desperate need of sharpening.

After cutting the potatoes in half I placed them on a baking sheet and covered them in olive oil and my BBQ rub which I use for essentially every BBQ food. Make sure these are nice and coated in the seasoning and place them face down on the sheet. Then place these in a 350˚F oven and I roast them for about an hour.

Once the hour’s up, I flip them over. They have a pretty nice color now, but wait until you roast them for a little bit longer. Oh boy. I let them sit in the oven for another hour and then it’s time to crank up the heat.

I turn the oven up to 450˚F and let the magic happen. After about 15-20 minutes you’ll get these babies.

2016-04-10 20.29.49

Increasing the heat allows the brown sugar in our rub to really caramelize. If you don’t want as much color as I have here, you can just bake them for a shorter amount of time. It’s completely up to you.

For the topping, I wanted to add a little bit of complementary sweetness to the sweet potato. We want to get a nice balance of sweet and savory because we don’t want the entire meal to be completely one note BBQ. It’ll be delicious, don’t get me wrong. But I like to have a little interest on the plate.

In a small saucepan I combined margarine and maple syrup. Heat this up and let it sort of almost simmer for about 5 minutes. After this, I poured in the walnuts and let them get coated in the maple syrup/butter mixture. Then pour this over top your roasted sweet potatoes and you’re done.

2016-04-10 20.36.17


Maple Walnut Barbecue Sweet Potatoes

Prep time: 5 minutes

Cook time: 2 hours, 15 minutes

Ingredients

  • 3 sweet potatoes
  • 3 tbs olive oil
  • 3 tbs BBQ rub
  • 2 tbs margarine
  • ¼ cup maple syrup
  • 1 cup walnuts

Preparation

  1. Preheat oven to 350˚F
  2. Cut sweet potatoes in half
  3. Toss potatoes in olive oil and BBQ rub
  4. Place potatoes cut-side down and bake for 1 hour
  5. Turn potatoes over and bake for another hour
  6. Increase oven to 450˚F, bake for another 10-15 minutes
  7. In a small saucepan, melt margarine over medium heat
  8. Add in maple syrup and cook for ~3 minutes
  9. Stir in walnuts
  10. Top potatoes with walnut and butter mixture

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Vegetarian


 

Leave a Reply

