Stovetop Barbecue “Baked” Beans

on

We’re beginning to wrap up the BBQ extravaganza that, at this point, occurred weeks ago but has supplied me with enough material to last a lifetime (or so it seems). But I can’t just end a BBQ spurt without introducing a baked bean recipe for anyone that wants it. I don’t think you can call it true barbecue without one.

I will, however, make one disclaimer. These aren’t actually baked. They were simmered slowly on the stove instead. I actually traditionally bake my baked beans, but I ran out of space in the oven so I had to improvise.

2016-04-10 18.59.28

My beans start out as any good barbecue side should: with bacon. In my nonstick pan, I cook up a couple slices of bacon and take it out once it’s done and reserve the fat in the pan. I think we all know why, because that’s what you want to cook your onions in.

2016-04-10 19.05.56

With the onions simmering in the bacon fat, I add in a little bit of my BBQ rub. The brown sugar in the rub will help the onions caramelize a little bit before we pour in the liquids. Once the onions get nice and translucent, I added the bacon back in. That can really be done at any time since the bacon’s already cooked. It’s not a necessity for it to be done right away.

2016-04-10 19.08.47

But man doesn’t that look absolutely delicious. This is a solid base for any recipe in my opinion. Sure, it’s not the healthiest. But I’m from the south and we like our food rendered in those fats.

Now it’s a simple matter of assembling the rest of the dish. Pour in the can of pinto beans with the canned liquid in tact and then some of BBQ sauce. It’s really important (to me and my apartment at least) to not salt anything. The bacon is salty, it’s just the nature of that specific cured pork product. The beans from a can and their liquid will have quite a bit of salt in them as well because that’s just how canned goods are. Part of the reason I don’t entirely trust them.

2016-04-10 19.10.12

Stir this all together and bring it to a slight simmer. Then cover the pan with a lid and turn the heat down to low. We want this to cook for a very long time at a very low temperature because that’s how I think things turn out the best. So low heat here for about an hour and a half and you’ll have yourself some delicious BBQ baked beans with very little actual effort.


Stovetop Barbecue “Baked” Beans

Prep time: 5 minutes

Cook time: 1.5 hours

Ingredients

  • 1 can pinto beans, with liquid
  • 5 slices bacon
  • ½ large yellow onion
  • ½ cup BBQ sauce
  • 1 tbs BBQ seasoning

Preparation

  1. Cook bacon in pan
  2. Remove and add yellow onion and BBQ seasoning
  3. Saute until onion is transparent and starts to caramelize, 8-10 minutes
  4. Pour in pinto beans with the liquid
  5. Add BBQ seasoning and crush bacon into pan
  6. Cover and simmer on low for 1.5 hours

Gluten-free, Dairy-free


 

Leave a Reply

