Hasselback Potatoes

It’s amazing how so much of the stuff I have to write up is actually fairly simple but I just refuse to do it because it seems like a lot of work. Today, we’re doing some hasselback potatoes to try and get back into the swing of things with this food blog. These are great for a couple reasons. First of all, it presents a whole new way of making a potato, which if you’re me is very important. I personally get easily tired of preparing potatoes the same way over and over again to the point that I rarely buy potatoes anymore. And second, they look super fancy but are, in fact, super easy.

I’ll start with the oil I used to roast the potatoes. Now you could save yourself an extra step and just combine all of this in with the potatoes right before you’re about to roast them, but that takes all of the fun (and flavor) out of it. Sometimes I like to actually infuse my olive oil a little bit before I use it, especially when I’m roasting things with garlic. That way all of the oil has a slightly garlicky flavor instead of places where you get a bite of garlic.

In a small sauce pot, I combined the olive oil with a healthy helping of salt, pepper, and garlic. While it might seem like a lot of salt when reading the recipe, it is literally all of the salt I added to the dish as a whole. So there needs to be enough salt to season up all the potatoes because nothing’s worse than eating a bland potato.

Just heat up the olive oil over medium to medium low heat and let that go while you prepare the potatoes, which I guess for me took around 15 minutes or so. After your potatoes are ready to be roasted, throw in the chives (since we don’t really want those to cook down) and it’s ready to go over the potatoes.

Speaking of potatoes, I suppose I should introduce those as well. For this I used a mixed bag of those small potatoes that contain red, yukon gold, and purple potatoes. Why? Mostly because I like the colors. I guess a more technical answer one might give, but I don’t personally tout, is that these potatoes actually cook at different rates so there’s some textural difference even just with these potatoes.

In any case, the most challenging part of this dish is cutting these. The point essentially is to slice it but not all the way through so that they don’t just become slices of potato. Which if you’re me, is actually kind of hard to do since I’m so use to just slicing through things like a machine.

After carefully cutting into all of your potatoes, throw them into a baking dish and pour the olive oil over the top of them. Then toss them around to get them pretty evenly coating and even get some of the olive oil and garlic into the the little nooks you cut into them so that the inside of the potato is also nice and seasoned.

After about 30-45 minutes in a 450˚F oven, these little guys will be just about good to go. But I’m from the south so just cooking them in oil isn’t quite enough. But coating them in butter will do the trick.

In addition to garlicky potatoes, I figured that this dish could benefit from some good old fashioned caramelized onions. Just as I do with all of my onions, I melted down some butter and cooked some onions on a low setting with some sugar and a little but of pepper. Once they’re nice and cooked down and translucent, they’re ready to go over the potatoes.

img_0743

So the final step is to just coat all your potatoes again but this time in the butter and onions and serve.


Hasselback Potatoes

Prep time: 20 minutes

Cook time: 45 minutes

Ingredients

  • 1 cup olive oil
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 tbs salt
  • 2 tsp black pepper
  • t tbs chive
  • 1 lb potatoes
  • 4 tbs unsalted butter
  • 2 tbs white sugar
  • 1 onion, diced

Preparation

  1. Preheat oven to 450˚F
  2. Combine olive oil, garlic, salt, and pepper in a pot and heat over medium low heat
  3. Slice potatoes almost all the way through and place into a baking dish
  4. Add chives to olive oil mixture and pour over potatoes, toss to coat evenly, be sure to get in between the slices in the potato as well
  5. Bake for 45 minutes or until potatoes are crispy
  6. While potatoes are in the oven, melt butter in a pot
  7. Add onions and sugar and saute on low until the onions are caramelized
  8. Toss finished potatoes in butter and onions and serve

Gluten-free, vegetarian


 

Leave a Reply

